• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Becoming a tram driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Newts6508

I'm looking at becoming a tram driver. I've got 8 years experience in public transport on the buses. Just wondered if there was any advice in going about getting a job and in terms of online courses I could possibly do ie maths and English as my GCSE's weren't the greatest also maybe a rail/tram beginner course (or similar) I could potentially do in the meantime while a trainee job becomes available

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Bletchleyite

Veteran Member
I'm looking at becoming a tram driver. I've got 8 years experience in public transport on the buses. Just wondered if there was any advice in going about getting a job and in terms of online courses I could possibly do ie maths and English as my GCSE's weren't the greatest also maybe a rail/tram beginner course (or similar) I could potentially do in the meantime while a trainee job becomes available

I don't know about trams specifically, your best best would be to contact your local tram operator and see whether they have any jobs going and what their criteria are.

Generally speaking, though, I would say that if you don't have a decent (C or better, or whatever the current numeric equivalent is) Maths and English GCSE it is definitely worth your while looking at those, e.g. in evening classes. Almost every employer (other than the most basic physical type jobs) will be interested in those, whereas they tend to be far less interested in other GCSEs.

Newts6508