• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Class 108 routes, Liveries and other DMU's

Status
Not open for further replies.

camperdown9

Chestfield, Kent & Chatillon Sur-Seine, Burgundy
Hi

(Introduction...skip if you are short on time)

I should start of by saying that I know next to nothing about rail infrastructure and the railway industry. I used to work in the airline industry and have been an airline geek for 40+ years. However over the past few years the airline industry has to me has started to become less interesting and I have started to take a bit of an interest in trains. Now as I have said "I know nothing".

I am a bit of a collector and recently bought a door from a 108. Its been sanded, filled, sanded, primed, undercoated and has had two coats of gloss so far. Hopefully I am going to be permitted to keep it in the house, but that might be unlikely.

Anyway questions...

(Question 1)

What routes were Class 108's used on? I have seen some photos of some 108's with "metrotrain" branding take at Manchester. Where they only used in the north of England or all over the UK? I think I read that some had first class, so I guess they must of been used on some long-ish routes?

(Question 2)

What was Metrotrain?

(Question 3)

Where the 108's ever in the blood and custard livery? There are photos of a 108 in a livery thats white with a single blue line, what was that? Is there a good website or book that describes the various British Rail liveries?

(Question 4 last one promise)

I used to travel to work on a class 117, the 108's look to me (someone who doesn't know much about trains) very similar. As do the 105's and 101's etc. I am sure they are totally different, but is there a good website that explains the differences?

Thank You

Alex