• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Graduate jobs in the railway industry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon11

Established Member
Hi

I'm currently in my final year at uni applying for lots of grad jobs in Analyst/ business/ finance/ management jobs in the railway industry :)

I was wondering if anyone could give advice to what companies to apply for and provide any tips/advice :D

Quick background, done 1 year work placement with VT in revenue management dep, work experience related to railways and do lots of volunteering.

Here are the companies I have applied for so far :)

TFL
Network Rail
Arriva
Atkins
First
Interfleet
The railway Consultancy

I have on favourites (As the schemes haven't opened yet)
DB Schenker
Transport Scotland
National Express
Chiltern

Any information would be appreciated!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

scotsman

Established Member
Well, good luck to you! The majority of these management types don't seem to know a thing about running a railway. Other than that, I can't really help you. Sorry.

Simon11

Established Member
Very positive so far:D

I applied for most jobs around 3 weeks ago

TFL Had online test and phone interview
NR Online Test
Atkins Online Test

I've been rejected from 2 applications but they were Exxon Mobile and DHl. However all other applications, Im still waiting for a response.

I've just applied for an ideal grad scheme with Northern:D

Fingers Crossed:D

bluenoxid

Established Member
Yeah I got rejected by DHL. Just didn't have the right attitude for their online test thingy (it's an odd online test that looks at your attitudes).

Just had a thought of one or a few. PTE's.

Established Member