• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Lineside video - is this a safe distance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marty82

Not sure if this is the correct section so please feel free to move if necessary.

Genuine question - is the position of the engineering team in this video safe? Can't attach the video as the forums don't allow MP4 files but it is here on TikTok.

I am no railway expert, merely a keen observer, but to me this looks rather unsafe. Trying to work out where on the network this is - it appears the train is a CrossCountry Voyager or Super Voyager to me.

Video description - group of around nine workers wearing high vis sitting/lying at edge of line on track ballast. One is wearing a COSS armband. Train approaches at speed causing workers to be buffeted by the train's wake. Most lean forward and one covers face with helmet to avoid being hit by any ballast spray.

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Ianno87

Veteran Member
Not one staff member appears to raise their arm to acknowledge the approaching train....

alxndr

Established Member
Unless there's some very strange things going on with camera angles/distortion, absolutely not.

I assumed it was the person holding the camera.

Should be each of them anyway.

ScotRail158725

Established Member
Not one staff member appears to raise their arm to acknowledge the approaching train....
its a still photo where the train is right there, the camera man could have done it without us seeing and the other guy in frame before this was taken

FrodshamJnct

Established Member