• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Network Rail Graduate Opportunities

Status
Not open for further replies.

jackd92

Hi all,

I'm in my final year studying BA history at the University of Sussex, I've always had an interest in the railways and have been looking into the Network Rail graduate schemes. The Operations and General Management course seems the most appealing to me but I've heard from a few people and read online that it's a very hard industry to get into. I've worked as a delivery driver and a retail manager so I'm not sure if I stand a chance without any rail experience

I've been doing a lot of online research but I wanted to ask whether anyone had any advice or point me in the direction of any resources that may be beneficial. As well as this I was also wondering:

What degrees are favourable to Network Rail employers?

What sort of transferable skills do they usually look for?

And if I'm successful (here's hoping) after completing the course what job roles do the graduates typically go into?

Thank you and sorry for the long post!

Jack.

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

You definitely don’t need railway experience to get on the grad scheme - that’s the whole point of a grad scheme.

Transferrable Skills is More around how you can apply yourself to meet NR’s objectives and values etc.

post grad scheme you would apply for a band 4 role within the organisation.

I’m currently on the finance internship and have my interview for the grad scheme next week. Feel free to message me with any questions, happy to help.

Tom Quinne

On Moderation
The scheme is the best in the industry, you’ll get to do things and gain competencies that would decades in usual first run first jobs.