• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Qualified driver qualifications

Status
Not open for further replies.

Driver64276

Hi

I am a qualified driver and would eventually like to change to another company.
I have seen alot of the new trainee driver jobs, such as Lner asking for A to C grades in English and maths to even be considered for the role.
When I got my job all that was required was 5 gcsc A to C or equivalent, which I had due to a gnvq.
Now if I was to go apply for someone like Lner would I be ruled out for not having a c grade in English, or are they not so bothered when you are already a qualified driver.

Thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

John Bishop

I don’t think you can apply for a trainee job if your qualified. You would need to wait for a suitable Qualified vacancy to come up.

Driver64276

I don’t think you can apply for a trainee job if your qualified. You would need to wait for a suitable Qualified vacancy to come up.
Sorry if I wasn't clear. I'm not after applying for a trainee role. I am trying to find out if companies would require the same gcse standards for a qualified role, as they currently are asking for new trainees.

Jericho

Absolutely not. As a qualified driver, TOC's are not interested in your academic qualifications. Safety of the line record is what counts.

marty1977

I got the grand total of 3 GCSE's with poor grades. However I've moved TOC's twice, I'm a good driver with a very good record, thats all you need when you're qualified.

TJ123

Like others have stated, as a qualified driver changing TOCs the main thing they will look at is your safety of the line record.