• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Stopped for travelling on an expired railcard - email before letter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

H2D

Hello,

I was recently stopped at Stansted Airport for travelling on an expired railcard (which I had forgotten had expired tbh - it was a stupid oversight on my part since I rarely take the train anymore but doesn’t make it any less excusable). I’ve never done anything like this before, and have since looked through my records and have only made one train journey since my railcard expired and it looks like I didn’t use the railcard on that journey.

I want to avoid a court process and would be keen to settle. I haven’t received any correspondence from the TOC. My question is, could I email GA ahead of them sending a letter and explaining I’d be keen to pay the full fare and any other reasonable costs incurred and have the matter closed rather than wait for a letter etc?

Objective is to get it resolved and avoid anxiety etc as well as risk of missing the letter

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Fawkes Cat

Established Member
Welcome to the forum.

The first question is whether when you were stopped, any of your details were taken. If nothing was noted down then effectively the railways have had a firm word with you, and no further action will follow. But be careful to make sure in future that you do have a valid railcard if you book a railcard ticket!