• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Used my friend's photo card to buy a travel card with student discount

Status
Not open for further replies.

edcys

I paid less than 150£, as fine.

this is what I had received from TFL

http://www.railforums.co.uk/showpost.php?p=2974257&postcount=35

I am asked to pay £600 and will receive a Formal Warning if I agree that I try to avoid any fare. The incident was that I used my friend's photo card to buy a travel card with student discount. But I am actually a student. I told them the situation and I told them a prosecution will affect my visa application. But it seems they want to charge me more because of the possible negative effect of a prosecution. I feel desperate.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

island

Veteran Member
I think they want you to pay more due to the seriousness of your offence.

You have the choice to pay, or not to pay and have your day in court. As you say yourself, a conviction may impair your permission to remain in the country. You should take this into account.

najaB

Veteran Member
The incident was that I used my friend's photo card to buy a travel card with student discount. But I am actually a student.
Could I ask why you didn't get your own photo card? If you are a student then it would have been a simple matter. The TOC will want an answer to this question.
I told them the situation and I told them a prosecution will affect my visa application. But it seems they want to charge me more because of the possible negative effect of a prosecution.