• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Qualified Driver - Best way to apply for jobs and dormant train driver licence

JohnO295

I'm currently a driver in London but need to relocate to the Carlisle area for family reasons very soon. I've looked on the Northern and Scotrail websites but it looks like it's trainee only. Is it worth sending speculative CVs or application/queries to TOCs or is it just a case of wait and see? I keep being told that there's a shortage of drivers but it doesn't look like that anywhere at the moment.

Also, if I have to move without a job do you know how long I can keep my licence and continue to apply for vacancies without working at a TOC? I have a HGV licence and that's dormant at the moment until I get my CPC and medical etc but I imagine it's different for ex train drivers.

Thanks very much in advance

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

skyhigh

Established Member
Northern generally do take speculative applications from qualified drivers, always worth a go. Carlisle is quite a small depot though so it depends if they forsee a need for additional crew.

driver9000

Established Member
DRS and Freightliner have depots in Carlisle if you're not exclusively wanting to stay on passenger work.

When you leave your current employer they will inform the ORR and should give you a copy of your competence certificate but the actual licence belongs to you which is valid for 10 years but I'm not sure how long you can out of the industry before being classed as a trainee again. Details on Driver licences are on the ORR website.

coxxy

Apply for the trainee vacancy, but make it clear thay you are qualified. Common practice with noethern as they don't usually advertise for qualifieds anymore.