• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

What a waste of a high speed train!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greenback

Emeritus Moderator
It's a shame those journeys can't be done either. I'm not an engineer, so I have no idea about what sort of power supply or track enhancements would be needed, but I presume it's technical problems that make it impossible?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

LE Greys

Established Member
It's a fault of almost all capital cities that they were seen as a target for railway companies rather than a transitory point. Hauptbahnhof solved that for Berlin.. LGV Interconnexion Est did roughly the same for Paris, while also linking up Charles de Gaulle I doubt that it is possible to do the same for London, partly because anything running south of there would require dual-system stock (not to mention the enormous cost). My ideas will go on the 'Services that should exist' thread.

MCR247

Established Member
Would be nice if Thameslink allowed "long distance" services like that - I'd like to travel from Sheffield to Gatwick/ Brighton

Ideally, and I know it isn't possible I would make the thameslink 4 track and build a big (probably) underground station called London Central with good tube connections and it could have intercity services aswell as locals. It would meet up with Crossrail at this station which would also be 4 tracked. It would also be where international trains go from. This would allow routes like

Penzance - Derby via London
Sheffield - Brighton
Norwich - Swansea/Cardiff
etc

tbtc

Veteran Member