• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Could XC serve Reading Green Park?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark J

Are Crosscountry services scheduled to call at this station in the future? Especially for the Football traffic that will be generated from the nearby Reading FC's Madejski Stadium.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

willgreen

I'm not a planning expert, but the likelihood of a national operator serving a station purely because there is a football game there every fortnight is close to nil. The days of the football special are all but over

HST43257

Established Member
Are Crosscountry services scheduled to call at this station in the future? Especially for the Football traffic that will be generated from the nearby Reading FC's Madejski Stadium.
I'm not a planning expert, but the likelihood of a national operator serving a station purely because there is a football game there every fortnight is close to nil. The days of the football special are all but over
I only see XC using it if there’s a fixture from somewhere else on or near their routes,
like Coventry or Birmingham. Even then, I reckon the normal service plus a GWR shuttle from RDG would be better in terms of pathing out of RDG

Shaw S Hunter

Established Member