• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Fare evasion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sillyman

I have been caught with my mother's freedom pass at victoria underground going to and from russell square. now I have been served a letter of notice which i must respond in 10 days and I need some advice on what I can do to be able to avoid a criminal charge. I only used my mum's freedom pass in the underground, I used my own pass on the train.

I know this is a very silly mistake to do which I am terribly embarrassed and ashamed of. Now I am frightened to death of a potential criminal charge.

At the moment I am in a difficult financial position because I am a student and I do not have a full-time job. Additionally, I am also going through a lot of family issues ever since I found out my mother has cancer. I understand that this is no excuse and I am truly sorry doing it. I am a law-abiding citizen, I have never committed any offences and I am fearful of the potential consequences for my future employment, even wish to pursue a career in law later on because it is what I study at university. At the moment I am applying for the military; Royal Marines, having a criminal record will devastate me as it will ruin my chances in joining the military as it is what I really want to do.

Please, can someone give me some advice and if they been in a similar situation what to do.
I am so scared of a criminal conviction that I have been feeling very depressed, my appetite is never there and unable to sleep because it is at the back of my mind 24/7.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

najaB

Veteran Member
I am a law-abiding citizen, I have never committed any offences