• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

How can the southbound approach to Peterborough be made safer to avoid another 'Lumo' incident?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MotCO

Established Member
This thread https://www.railforums.co.uk/thread...orough-17-04-2022.230537/page-17#post-6313516 started with the news that a Lumo train passed a junction at too high a speed for the turn-off. The thread discussed the incident and the RAIB report, but also moved on to what could be done to avoid a similar incident in the future, which feels like 'speculative discussion' (and I'm as guilty as anyone!). This thread therefore deals with suggestions as to how the approach to Peterborogh could be improved to avoid a similr incident.

To kick off, as a layman I have two suggestions. Firstly, although there are some trains which do not stop at Peterborough, could a speed limit be imposed to reduce the speed on approach until clear of the junction to ensure that any diverging route could be taken safely?

Secondly, could a 'speed camera' be installed which flashes up the speed a train is travelling if it is too fast for the divering route? Much the same as the road signs which flash up your speed if you are exceeding the speed limt or show a smiley face if you're being 'good'.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

bluenoxid

Established Member
I think (not at all my area of expertise) the technology is already in place, which would be two TPWS grids set to activate the braking system when the route is set and the train travels above a certain speed at that point

Ken H

On Moderation