• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

How Long Should Retailers Keep Records of Ticket Purchases For?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hadders

Veteran Member
Associate Staff
Senior Fares Advisor
In a thread in Disputes & Prosecutions GWR and Trainline have researched a customers online ticket purchasing history for the last five years.

How long do ticket retailers keep details of online ticket purchases?
I'm not a GDPR expert but as I understand it data should not be retained for longer than it is usefully required. How long should this be for rail tickets?
Prevention of crime is an exemption under GDPR but should online ticketing purchasing histiries be kept for years 'just in case' a ticketing irregularity is identified in a few years time.

Can anyone comment on the policy of any particular retailer or be more definitive about the legal position?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Tazi Hupefi

Probably 6 years+

It is evidence of a contract. Some tickets can have validities of over 12 months in any event, so probably 6 years from the date of expiry as a minimum.

It would be necessary in the event of any number of possible civil claims, as well as for general accountancy and taxation purposes. Financial records should be kept for 6 years from the end of the last company financial year they relate to.

This forum is very keen on promoting the rights of customers, so surely, you want the best possible data to be available throughout before the statute of limitations for a claim kicks in?