• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

How to become a crane operator (Rail)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ian3mith

I am 19 years old, i am new to the industry. i have my PTS TIC and two hand tools tickets. I am thinking of going down the BIG machine operating road :p also i was thinking to have an other specialize as a track welder. Anyone with information please leave a message below... Thanks!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

tiptoptaff

Established Member
I am 19 years old, i am new to the industry. i have my PTS TIC and two hand tools tickets. I am thinking of going down the BIG machine operating road :p also i was thinking to have an other specialize as a track welder. Anyone with information please leave a message below... Thanks!

You're best off trying infrastructure companies such as Balfour, Bam Nuttal, Stobart Rail et al.

DB Schenker occasionally advertise for breakdown train operators (they have a few really big re-railing cranes)

Clip

Established Member
Contacting each company would be the best bet - if they dont have any vacancies on their website.

Would you possibly need a driving license also for road/rail vehicle?

ian3mith

Contacting each company would be the best bet - if they dont have any vacancies on their website.

Would you possibly need a driving license also for road/rail vehicle?

I have a full uk licence 2 years been driving.

Boodiggy