• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Maidstone Stns to Kent Coast Return - routeing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosschap

Hello everyone, I hope someone a little more knowledgeable with the routeing guide and fare structure than me can help, I am a LU driver so this isn't really my area of expertise!

I am planning on stopping off at towns along the Kent Coast during one day. I will be travelling after 10.30am (weekday off peak). I will take the train to each station, get off for an hour or two, then go back and get on a train to the next station. My proposed route is Maidstone West - Strood - Herne Bay - Margate - Ramsgate - Deal - Dover Priory - Folkestone Central - Maidstone East.

I am aware that using an off-peak ticket I am able to break my journey (I believe on both the outward and return portions), and I am trying to work out the cheapest ticket I can purchase that will cover me on the route I am taking and allow me to break my journey.

Initially I considered Maidstone Stns - Ramsgate return (£14.20 with 16-25 railcard), however having checked the routeing guide it appears that the only allowed routes are via Strood and via Canterbury West. This is okay on the outward, but on the return I will be stopping off at Deal etc (as above), so I don't think that ticket would be valid.

I then looked at Maidstone Stns - Deal return (again £14.20 return), however this only allows routeing via Ashford Intl and not via Strood, which messes up the outward journey.