• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Nationalisation - how does it benefit the passenger?

Status
Not open for further replies.

millemille

I've worked on the railway, in rolling stock engineering for builders, maintainers, operators and consultants, for over 20 years now. I never worked for a part of British Rail, my work in the operational part of the business was post privatisation.

I'm neither pro or anti public or private ownership.

The obvious desire of the Labour party leadership candidates to curry public favour by planning on nationalising the railway confuses me (I'm a mechanical engineer - if I can't hit it with a hammer, or watch someone else hit it with a hammer and then tell them they've done it wrong then I'm at a loss....).

How will the average passenger benefit from nationalisation?

Correct me if I'm wrong or missed anything from the following list of what we, as an industry, are attempting to deliver to the average passenger;

1. The average passenger wants to depart and arrive at a clean, well lit, well eqippped station in a state of good repair?
  2. The average passenger wants to feel that stations are a secure enviroment at all times of the day?
  3. The average passenger wants up to date, consise, clear and honest information regarding the state of the service at the station and a clear and easy to understand timetable?
  4. The average passenger wants their ticket to be as cheap as possible and for the pricing structure to be consistent, fair and easy to understand?
  5. The average passenger wants a service that is affected as little as possible by seasonal conditions?
  6. The average passenger wants a punctual and reliable service, with the journey taking as short a time as possible and seeing any timetable changes for the betterment of journey times?