• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Question about RS/RW and Steam

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a DVD copy of Rail Simulator installed on my PC.

To upgrade to RailWorks, do I have to buy it or can I upgrade RS?

I'm new to all this Steam gubbins, so please don't shoot me if I've misunderstood this.

Thanks
Ryan

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Crossover

Established Member
Hi Ryan

I don't think you can upgrade from RS to RW, though I'm prepared to be corrected

I'm on my iPod at the moment so I can't easily check at the moment

I have another question - if I buy and install a DVD copy of Railworks 2 (not TS2012) - will I need Steam to activate the game thus updating it to TS2012 which my pc will not run very well if at all ....

Thanks sellis89 for the help so far, much appreciated.

Darandio

Established Member
I have another question - if I buy and install a DVD copy of Railworks 2 (not TS2012) - will I need Steam to activate the game thus updating it to TS2012 which my pc will not run very well if at all ....

Thanks sellis89 for the help so far, much appreciated.

Yes, this would be unavoidable.

In terms of upgrading from RS to RW, yes, you could have done it when RW came out by sending in your disc or manual and getting a half price discount, but that is irrelevant now.

Thanks Darren - so there's no way I can install RailWorks without it updating to TS2012 which I don't want?

That doesn't seem right to me ....

Oh well, if that is the case then I'll stick with Rail Simulator ...

Thanks.

Darandio

Established Member
Thanks Darren - so there's no way I can install RailWorks without it updating to TS2012 which I don't want?

That doesn't seem right to me ....