• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Receiving an apology from a public authority - advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeg

Established Member
Why are public authorities so reluctant to apologise for behaviour that was completely wrong? I understand it's for fear of being sued, either that or professional arrogance but I'd just like to know why they aren't more 'user friendly'. I work in customer service and spend half my life bending over backwards and apologising for things that are beyond my control. Why are our supposedly accountable public services not the same?

I'm actually seeking practical advice here, I have no interest in claiming monetary compensation but do want an apology from the National Health Service. I've engaged with them as much as possible and tried various different tactics but it all comes down to the same old arrogant 'we think we were right to do this' even though in some cases they were demonstrably wrong. In particular I would like advice re the following.

1. Male genital mutilation, carried out at a young age without full personal understanding and consent
  2. Libellous comments written on medical records ( I would like this removed but so far this has come to nothing, do the NHS think they're exempt from defamation law? It seems so)
  3. Detention without charge or trial for a period of two weeks in February 2010 and actively misleading me as to my rights in this.
I don't really have funds for a solicitor but this is a matter of personal dignity to me. Does anyone else have experience of obtaining a meaningful apology from a public institution (not necessarily the NHS)?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

deltic

Established Member