• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

South West Trains Cycle Policy

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucaZone

:-xCycling to work has got to be one of the most environmentally friendly methods possible, and saves a fortune in travel costs. In this 'Green' crazy world we now live you'd think companies would be falling over themselves to be seen promoting support for environmentally friendly customers and products, yet SouthWest Trains appear to be going in the opposite direction.

I've been cycling to work for about 18 months now, and slowly over that time, the services I'm allowed to take a bike on, has been getting less and less and less. I mean, for a train operator whose rolling stock has been designed from the outset to carry a lot of bikes (half a dozen on most trains is a lot to me), it is bemusing that they are trying their hardest to stop you bringing a bike on the train!

I travel from Brookwood to Woking, and then Woking to Guildford.

Checking this morning, I have now discovered that the latest policy is that no bikes are allowed on trains arriving at Waterloo between 7.15 and 10.00. Arriving at 7.15am! When I started cycling and using the train, I was able to get on trains as late as 7.23 (arriving Waterloo at 7.59) as the policy was 'Arriving between 8 and 10am. Now though, in order to 'legally' be outside the 7.15 and 10 zone, Id have to be on a train before 6am, 3 hours before anyone normally needs to be at work! Using the train, my journey only takes 30 minutes (from boarding at Brookwood, to arriving at the office in Guildford), but I think its ridiculous to force me to arrive at work for 6:30 in the morning, just so I can cycle to work.