• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Travel Irregularity: Grantham to Newark Northgate

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astarael

Hi, I need some things clarifying about my case.

I've included the piece of paper he gave me.

This morning I was found without a ticket for a second time by the same inspector as last time. He asked for my ID and asked why I was travelling without a ticket. I panicked saying I was "late for the train".

However he had seen me on the platform and followed me onto the train thus knew I my story was false. From here he took my details and told me a letter would arrive within 21 days to inform me of what action will be taken.

No fine was issued nor ticket. After he told me what would happen I informed him as to why I had got onto the train without purchasing a ticket. "I am a student attending college, I have limited income and I haven't received my travel funding from college this week". He said he understood my position but "the rail company is not a charity".

What I would like to know is what the usual course of action is for these proceedings, am likely to be fined/taken to court and whether I will get a criminal conviction for this offence.

I appreciate that advice may be difficult given that there are no letters to inform about my case however I want to know what to expect.

Yes, I am an idiot for not paying the fare at the station and lying to the inspector. I regret my actions but I will point out I was forced into this position else I would've likely had my travel funding revoked.

Edit: The first time I was stopped I was not challenged beyond having to pay for the ticket and it was never mentioned that I had to buy a ticket at the machine before boarding. No details were taken either.