• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Travel Irregularity: Grantham to Newark Northgate

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astarael

To the OP.

I have been a student and faced the choice of eating or paying for travel (and rent) so you have my sympathies too. Are you able to obtain any financial support from your parents? If you are lucky enough to get off with a fine, have you considered how you would resource the funds to pay this? Can you get a part time or weekend job?

Are there any "luxuries" you can forgo for a time - e.g. cigarettes/vape/alcohol? When I was a student, it was a choice between eating or smoking/drinking once my rent was paid. Mobile phones didn't exist back then so I didn't have that worry like students do now

My parents already help me out with my rent and I have cut out alcohol, don't smoke and shop in also just to make my pennies go further.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Astarael

Its worth pointing out that you were not forced into getting on the train and going to college - that was your decision and your decision only. Not getting your weekly funding through from your college doesn't excuse you from getting on the train without a ticket. You can always miss college and complain to them bitterly about this.

Its worth noting that today is Thursday and surely they dont give you your funding for your travel towards the end of the working week and if they dont and it comes through on a Friday ready for Monday or indeed a Monday then how have you been getting there the other 3 days this week?

Now, as this is your second time im sure they would look more towards a prosecution for you so how old are you?