• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

becoming a freight train driver?

Status
Not open for further replies.

luciobrazil007

hi, i am 17 and would like to become a freight train driver once i am old enough.

i am in my second year of college and i will probably not be going to university.
what should i look at doing from now until i am eligible to boost my chances???
:D

thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Stuart-h

I'd look on the toc's websites - train crew or something along them lines and work your way up.

E&W Lucas

Established Member
hi, i am 17 and would like to become a freight train driver once i am old enough.

i am in my second year of college and i will probably not be going to university.

thanks

I suggest you start by searching the wealth of information already on here, posted by those of us who have become drivers.

Some pointers to get you started:

1. Most freight drivers are recruited as qualified entrants from passenger companies. Become a driver first; worry about what you are driving later.
2. Driving is often a "second career"; something people move into directly, later in life.
3. You don't need to have worked on the railway before to get on a driver trianing course. You will need a strong CV though, with a good standard of education, and plenty of evidence that you can manage yourself and handle responsibility.

Don't count the days "until you are old enough" - most drivers tend to be a bit older than 21. Not trying to put a damper on you; just telling you the reality.

Last edited:

chrisdmadd

thanks