• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Operative , signal maintenance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paulm36

Hi all , just wondering if anyone could offer some advice please. I recently applied for the position of operative , signal maintenance. I made it to the point of application under consideration for assessment 2, and then received an email stating that after consideration I wasn't a match technically. However they do encourage me to search for other positions to apply for. Firstly is the encouragement legitimate or is it just a way of letting you down lightly, and secondly, I'm an NVQ Qualified plumber and have been working for a grounds maintenance company for the last 15 years , grafting out in all weather's covering everything from grass cutting to fence building to plumbing, so really I'm just wondering what sort of positions should I be applying for , if any , with my working history. Thank you for any advice in advance.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

michael74

I have applied over the last 6 months for approx x1 track and x3 signal operative posts, while my recent work is not a relevant as yours, my past (especially in the signalling role) is a lot more relevant, but I too have only ever got to the same point as you.

Last edited:

Paulm36

I have applied over the last 6 months for approx x1 track and x3 signal operative posts, while my recent work is not a relevant as yours, my past (especially in the signalling role) is a lot more relevant, but I too have only ever got to the same point as you.