• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

The biggest issues in Rail and how to solve them. University Product Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobbm013

Hi Everyone

(mods please move if there is a better place for this topic)

I’m a Product Design student who has to complete a final year project. I have a real interest in the rail industry and would love to base my final year project around this. Ideally I need a real life scenario and problem to work with therefore I was wondering if anyone could think of the largest issues in the railway sector right now which could be solved through a product, app, service, technology innovation etc.

At this stage I’m just looking for ideas and am still a few months away from pitching this project. But any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Matt

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

baffobear

Hi,

I'd say one of the issues is to do with Passenger information during disruption and before and during engineering works

Ensuring that correct levels of information are provided:

In advance of a customer journey.
At the station.
Where connections or modal changes may occur for example rail replacement buses or changing at a connecting station from one TOC to another.
Ensuring that on transfer of franchise that good practice is not lost.

jayah

On Moderation
Hi Everyone

(mods please move if there is a better place for this topic)