• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Trainee driver info

Marc-1

Hi ,I have a been offered a trainee driver role with southeastern and have my medical in a week or so . I already drive light rail for a living and wear varifocal glasses full time and have done for several years . My paperwork for the medical says I can only have bifocal glasses which I have now purchased and they are absolutely rubbish in comparison to the varifocals . I’m at a complete loss as to why this is and can’t find any reason anywhere online , even two separate opticians are unable to answer this question and think it must be a mistake. Could anyone shed some light on this please

also is it four weekly or monthly salary please

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ComUtoR

Established Member
I’m at a complete loss as to why this is and can’t find any reason anywhere online

The information is available online.

, even two separate opticians are unable to answer this question

Were they occupational health opticians who know and understand the specific railway requirements ?

and think it must be a mistake.

*It isn't

Could anyone shed some light on this please

The railway runs to 'Group Standards' and various legal requirements. The medical requirements for Train Drivers are very specific. The reason for the medical is so that every Driver meets the minimum standard so that they can work safely and our railway is safe for everyone to use or work in.

You are about to enter an industry where everything is rigid and needs to comply with some standard or law written somewhere. It can be quite difficult to adapt to this new working culture. to this day I still find it a little, for the want of a better word, odd.