Non existent station on departure board!

mtmikethom

Member
Joined
6 Sep 2011
Messages
113
Location
Hertfordshire
Hi Apologies if this has cropped up before but why is SOKEJN consistently listed as a calling point on this service (1548 ex Norwich) at Ely, it also is on the automatic station announcement as a calling point, other than it pausing briefly at Stoke Jc?
 

Attachments

  • 9A2EA378-81D6-4579-8832-DB2E0B6D029F.jpeg
    9A2EA378-81D6-4579-8832-DB2E0B6D029F.jpeg
    379.4 KB · Views: 439
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

800001

Established Member
Joined
24 Oct 2015
Messages
1,463
Hi Apologies if this has cropped up before but why is SOKEJN consistently listed as a calling point on this service (1548 ex Norwich) at Ely, it also is on the automatic station announcement as a calling point, other than it pausing briefly at Stoke Jc?
It’s as simple as someone making it a passenger calling point rather than a passing/timing point when creating the path.
Happens on east coast mainline quite often, with services showing Abbeyhill Junction as a calling point on Passenger screens and trains Passenger information screens.
 

mikeg

Established Member
Joined
20 Apr 2010
Messages
1,455
Happens sometimes in this area, I've seen Longlands Junction displayed for Redcar bound tpe services, also a signal just north of Northallerton for southbound grand Central services
 

DanNCL

Established Member
Joined
17 Jul 2017
Messages
2,443
Location
County Durham
It’s as simple as someone making it a passenger calling point rather than a passing/timing point when creating the path.
Happens on east coast mainline quite often, with services showing Abbeyhill Junction as a calling point on Passenger screens and trains Passenger information screens.
Abbeyhill Junction often made it into the manual announcements at Newcastle station, prior to the arrival of ATOS Anne.
 

800001

Established Member
Joined
24 Oct 2015
Messages
1,463
Abbeyhill Junction often made it into the manual announcements at Newcastle station, prior to the arrival of ATOS Anne.
Same with Carlisle Diverts, and Durham Coast Diverts, Longlands Junction, King Edward Bridge Junction and I think London Road Junction were other frequent ones for Virgin/LNER.
 

alistairlees

Established Member
Joined
29 Dec 2016
Messages
3,043
In the network rail data it has a public arrival and departure time. Just a mistake. Happens all the time.
 

Ken H

On Moderation
Joined
11 Nov 2018
Messages
4,202
Location
N Yorks
There was Melton between Selby and Hull. It was in the Baker rail atlas with an asterisk. And only appeared as a footnote in the BR passenger timetable. Never did work out what was going on. Its has a Wiki entry but I cant find mention of it in 1978 BR passenger Timetbale
 

SargeNpton

Member
Joined
19 Nov 2018
Messages
646
The timing point at Stoke Tunnel (SOKEJN being it's TIPLOC), where the train stops for 1 minute, has incorrectly been input to the train schedule as a passenger stop rather than for operating purposes.

As the platform screen doesn't have that location in its list of valid stations it displays the TIPLOC instead.
 

APT618S

Member
Joined
7 Dec 2018
Messages
271
I remember, perhaps 15-20 years ago, at Durham seeing a none existing platform displayed on the screens where a none stop Aberdeen bound HST was displayed on the screens as stopping on platform DF - presumably the down fast.
 

Doctor Fegg

Established Member
Joined
9 Nov 2010
Messages
1,304
There was Melton between Selby and Hull. It was in the Baker rail atlas with an asterisk. And only appeared as a footnote in the BR passenger timetable. Never did work out what was going on. Its has a Wiki entry but I cant find mention of it in 1978 BR passenger Timetbale
Appears to have been a workmen's halt, so not really publicised for general passenger use: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melton_Halt_railway_station
 

APT618S

Member
Joined
7 Dec 2018
Messages
271
Today's (18/01/22) 1617 Glasgow Central to Edinburgh has PRNCSTG as a station stop on the displays at Glasgow Central. RTT shows a call at Princes St Gardens:
 

SargeNpton

Member
Joined
19 Nov 2018
Messages
646
Today's (18/01/22) 1617 Glasgow Central to Edinburgh has PRNCSTG as a station stop on the displays at Glasgow Central. RTT shows a call at Princes St Gardens:
Short Term Plan overlay for 10-28 January, beyond that date it is (so far) just a passing time at Princes Street Gardens.
 

ayubdaud

New Member
Joined
11 Mar 2020
Messages
1
Location
Bolton
Water Street Jn used to show up as a call for Northern on Southport to Alderley Edge trains. Every now and then it pops up again.
 

Peter0124

Member
Joined
20 Nov 2016
Messages
1,098
Location
Glasgow
NWTLWJ often showed on trains when they were booked to wait at the junction between Cambuslang and Newton
 

Watershed

Established Member
Joined
26 Sep 2020
Messages
5,369
Location
UK
Would be interesting to know if any closed stations, that now act as timing points, ever make an inadvertent reappearance on departure boards in this way.
Yes - there are lots of timing points where trains might be booked to stop for some reason (e.g. being overtaken or waiting for a conflicting train etc.) which are former stations. For example on the WCML you have Brinklow, Lowton and Beattock, around Sheffield you have Heeley, on the GEML you have Haughley and Trowse, on the ECML you have Helpston, Temple Hirst and Tollerton.
 

PeterC

Established Member
Joined
29 Sep 2014
Messages
3,482
IIRC Talerdig once made it into table 75 of the National Timetable. That would have been in the 70s or 80s, I don't remember now but I think just as a footnote.
 

Tractor37

Member
Joined
23 May 2017
Messages
178
Bradley Junction used to be shown as a calling point on the screens at Leeds for the Leeds - Huddersfield via Halifax service and when operated by Northern Heaton Lodge Junction for the Leeds - Huddersfield via Dewsbury service. Both as Transpennine’s were timed to pass them at these points.
 

SargeNpton

Member
Joined
19 Nov 2018
Messages
646
In the train planning system, any timing point where a train stops has to have an activity code to say what the purpose of that stop is. There are around 34 of those activity codes, of which 4 relate to advertised passenger stops.

As with any system, human error can occasionally result in one of the passenger activity codes being input at a non-passenger location.
 

miklcct

On Moderation
Joined
2 May 2021
Messages
1,522
Location
Bournemouth
Has anyone seen if trains scheduled to "London Road Depot" will actually have it show up on the departure board, or showing the last passenger station call properly?
 

Steddenm

Member
Joined
2 Mar 2017
Messages
600
Location
Clane, Co. Kildare
There was some strange ones at Nuneaton in the early 90s. Not a stopping point (more of a timing point, maybe), but on Birmingham to Cambridge services Croft used to appear; on Birmingham-bound services you'd see Coleshill (way before Parkway station opened), and the Coventry line had "Oil Term Jtn" sometimes. This was when the CRT screens had started to become colour at the station. Plus the PA system used to play out the Talking Clock ("At the third stroke, the time sponsored by Accuritst, will be... pip, pip, pip") at 9pm each night - just before the Holyhead InterCity train.
 

Graham H

Member
Joined
16 Apr 2018
Messages
149
Some years ago I saw a Voyager at Didcot advertising next stop as Foxhall Junction on the door side display. Didnt hear any automated platform announcement but trains were going from Didcot towards Swindon and then reversing at Foxhall to go round the west curve towards Oxford.
 

Watershed

Established Member
Joined
26 Sep 2020
Messages
5,369
Location
UK
In the train planning system, any timing point where a train stops has to have an activity code to say what the purpose of that stop is. There are around 34 of those activity codes, of which 4 relate to advertised passenger stops.

As with any system, human error can occasionally result in one of the passenger activity codes being input at a non-passenger location.
When a stop is added to a passenger schedule, it defaults to being an advertised passenger call. A deliberate effort is required to prevent this from being the case, and this is the reason why it is overlooked now and again.
 

Millisle

Member
Joined
7 Jul 2013
Messages
205
Location
Lockerbie, Dumfriesshire
Would be interesting to know if any closed stations, that now act as timing points, ever make an inadvertent reappearance on departure boards in this way.
A couple of months ago I saw Lugton included at Carlisle for a Glasgow via Dumfries train. The automated announcement left it out, but then it was included in a subsequent manual announcement.
 

Lewlew

Member
Joined
15 Oct 2019
Messages
551
Location
London
Has anyone seen if trains scheduled to "London Road Depot" will actually have it show up on the departure board, or showing the last passenger station call properly?
On the Bakerloo?

They show the TIPLOC on the summary boards. The platforms don't show them, they flash up "Passing service"
 

Top